How to Like and Pass on profiles
You can Like people by:
- Choosing them in DoubleTake on the app by dragging their picture to the right
- Choosing them in DoubleTake on the web by clicking the star button
- Clicking Like on their profile on either the web or the app
Liking people is a great way to let them know that you're interested! When you like someone, it lets us know you’re interested in them, so we make an effort to show you to them around OkCupid much more often, so they have a chance to see you and like you back. And when you both like each other, we always let both of you know, for free.
You can see the list of everyone you've Liked on your liked users page (and if you're A-List, you can also see everyone who's liked you!).
If you've changed your mind, you can Pass someone to remove them from your Who You Like list. Visit their profile to tap/click the Pass button (or the pink X sign).
Passing means that you don't want to Like or message that person right now, and you'd prefer not to see them come up in your matches. People you Pass will not appear in your Search, Discovery or DoubleTake results. But it doesn't hide them from your forever!
If you'd prefer to never see someone's profile again you can still block them (see more information on blocking here).
If you ever run out of matches, your Passed matches may recycle, so you'd get a second chance to see them again at that point -- you'd also pop back into their results as well.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why am I seeing people I passed on?
You won't see anyone you've passed on within 30 days. If there’s somebody you’d prefer not to ever see again on OkCupid, you can block/ unmatch with them. Blocks never automatically reset.
I accidentally Passed on someone I meant to Like. What do I do?
Passing on someone doesn’t hide them from you forever.
You can reset passes from your privacy settings.
>On the app, tap Profile, Account Settings, Privacy, then "Reset" under passes
>On the desktop website click here to go the Privacy Settings page, then click "Reset your passes"
Resetting passes doesn’t necessarily mean they’ll be added back to the top of your DoubleTake queue, but you should see them in your Discovery results, if they match your current search filters.
Why does it say "Passed" on the Who Likes You list?
If you're A-list and you see "Passed" next to names on your Who Likes You List, it means they’ve liked you, but you’ve passed on them. You can Like them if you’ve changed your mind, or block them if you’d prefer to remove them from the Who Likes You list.
If you still need help, you can email a friendly human.