How to delete or disable your account
👋 We hope you're leaving because you met someone awesome! If not, that's a bummer. Either way, we will miss you.
Here's how to do the deed:
On the website: you can disable or delete your account from your settings page where it says “Need a Break?” on the bottom of the page.
On the app, tap on your profile page, then on Account Settings, and then on Disable your account. Follow the prompts from there.
Disabling your account shows it as deleted to anyone who looks for it, but it leaves you the option to re-open your profile in the future if you wish.
If you delete your account, you can use the same email address for another account in the future.
If you're having trouble deleting or disabling your account and need help, let us know - there's a link to contact us at the bottom of this page.
What happens to my paid subscription if I disable/delete my account?
- If you paid for your subscription with PayPal or Credit card and disable your account, we will automatically pause all billing for you while your account is disabled. However, if you re-enable your profile after your billing expiration date you'll be prompted to pay for your subscription again, as your expiration date has passed. If you delete your account, we will permanently cancel your subscription.
- If your subscription is via iTunes or Google Play, those services do not know when your account on OkCupid is disabled, re-enabled, or even deleted, so they do not stop your subscription and you continue to be billed. If you want to stop billing via iTunes or Google Play, you will need to cancel your subscription through them separately from closing your OkCupid account.
- For more information check out our help page on canceling subscriptions.
If you're deleting your account because you met someone:
🎉🎉🎉 Hooray! 🎉🎉🎉
That's our favorite thing to hear. OK! So, what happens next?
1. If you'd like to close your account (or close your accounts together, you cuties, you), you can do so from the settings page on the website, or on the app by tapping on Profile, then on Account Settings, then on Disable your account. Follow the prompts there to temporarily disable or permanently delete your account.
When you follow the prompts, you'll be able to tell us who you met, so we can be reminded how rad our matching system is. 😎
1.5. But wait! If you'd like to keep a memento of your conversation on OkCupid, make sure to copy those messages before you close your accounts. If you end up asking us for copies of them later, it would end up being a whole thing, and we might even have to say No, so make sure to grab them now. Your scrapbook will thank you.
We're so happy to hear you found each other. ❤️🧡💛💚💙💜
If you still need help, you can email a friendly human.