How to cancel a subscription
So you met that special someone, and you don't need a subscription anymore? Congrats!
We always let you have full control over your subscription and you can cancel yourself, any time, without needing to contact us.
In this article we tell you how to cancel:
If you paid via PayPal or Credit Card
If you paid via iTunes
If you paid via Google Play
If you paid via Credit Card or PayPal:
On the website (not the app), go to your Subscription Settings page to see your subscription details.
To Cancel Your Subscription
On the settings page you'll see a list of your subscriptions and will see a "Turn off automatic billing" link. Clicking this link will prevent you from being billed again in the future, but you'll keep the rest of the time on your subscription that you have already paid for.
If your Subscription is already canceled
If the button says "Renew" instead of "Turn off automatic billing", that means the subscription is already canceled. You should see the date your subscription is set to end.
If you paid via Google Play or iTunes
If the payment method is Google Play or iTunes with no "downgrade" button, you won't be able to cancel your subscription via our website. To cancel, follow the cancellation instructions listed below for canceling subscriptions made with Google Play or iTunes.
If you paid via iTunes/ your iPhone app:
- If you're using the app but don't see an option to cancel in iTunes or Google Play, then it's likely that you paid via Credit Card or PayPal and need to cancel on our website instead. You will see this on the OkCupid app if you have paid via Credit Card:
If you paid via Google Play:
- Go to play.google.com/store/account.
- Find the subscription you want to cancel.
- Click Cancel Subscription.
If you purchased via Google Play and are looking on the OkCupid app's settings page, your subscription page will look like this:
If you're using the app but don't see an option to cancel in iTunes or Google Play, then it's likely that you paid via Credit Card or PayPal and need to cancel on our website instead. You will see this on the OkCupid app if you paid via Credit Card:
Note on renewals and disabled/ deleted accounts:
If you paid for your subscription with PayPal or Credit card and disable your account, we will automatically pause all billing for you while your account is disabled. However, if you re-enable your profile after your billing expiration date you'll be prompted to pay for your subscription again, as your expiration date has passed. If you delete your account, we will permanently cancel your subscription.
If your subscription is via iTunes or Google Play, those services do not know when your account on OkCupid is disabled, re-enabled, or even deleted, so they do not stop your subscription and you continue to be billed. If you want to stop billing via iTunes or Google Play, you will need to cancel your subscription through them separately from closing your OkCupid account.
If you still need help, you can email a friendly human.